Right here

greg ponthus
Greg Ponthus

“Stay right there, do not move.
I’ll come back, wait for me.”

Those words keep playing on my mind
Replaying memories, like videotapes
Of you running, and me chasing.
It’s been ages since you left me those words
But I kept them like I keep the stain of your lips in my body
Like scars, I did nothing to earn
And I will wait because you promised
I will wait because that’s the only thing I know
And one day, you’ll come back

And I’ll be right here,

Where you left me.

c.s.b.

 

3 thoughts on “Right here

Leave a Reply

